Imagine it into existance by Alan Watts {2 Videos}

IMG_4657.JPG
The Dream of Life—By Alan Watts
What if God Got Bored?

If u want to know the truth; Alan Watts can point u in the right direction.

IMG_2654.PNG
Every time I listen to his words I am reminded of those same ineffable spiritual qualities that inspired the concept of iiixtheory several years ago. He had such a way with encapsulating the infinite and transcendental notions about “reality.” Usually through a metaphor about music or an analogy of the qualities of water, Alan Watts would condense the essence of enlightenment into less than a paragraph or two of poetic phrases. This being the case I’ll spare you my prolix and just let the man speak for himself.

“This is the real secret of life — to be completely engaged with what you are doing in the here and now. And instead of calling it work, realize it is play.” Like swimming it’s best done with a calm faith in the nature of the act of intention itself. “To have faith is to trust yourself to the water. When you swim you don’t grab hold of the water, because if you do you will sink and drown. Instead you relax, and float.”

IMG_4676.JPG
“You are an aperture through which the universe is looking at and exploring itself.” Put further: “You are a function of what the whole universe is doing in the same way that a wave is a function of what the whole ocean is doing.”

Well what are we supposed to do with advice like this?

“Advice? I don’t have advice. Stop aspiring and start writing. If you’re writing, you’re a writer. Write like you’re a goddamn death row inmate and the governor is out of the country and there’s no chance for a pardon. Write like you’re clinging to the edge of a cliff, white knuckles, on your last breath, and you’ve got just one last thing to say, like you’re a bird flying over us and you can see everything, and please, for God’s sake, tell us something that will save us from ourselves. Take a deep breath and tell us your deepest, darkest secret, so we can wipe our brow and know that we’re not alone. Write like you have a message from the king. Or don’t. Who knows, maybe you’re one of the lucky ones who doesn’t have to.”

But what will people think of me? I remember when I first awoke from my existential slumber to the realization that I AM God! I felt like Jesus Christ himself but with a Buddhist twist! Talk about freaking people out! Most of the people around me at that time barely knew what I was going on about. I tried to tell them this:

IMG_3360.JPG
Crossing the Existential Rubicon
{A fitting article on this subject.}

But what I really needed was some more knowledge nuggets from the mouth of Alan Watts:

“Jesus Christ knew he was God. So wake up and find out eventually who you really are. In our culture, they’ll say you’re crazy and you’re blasphemous, and they’ll either put you in jail or in a nut house (which is pretty much the same thing). However if you wake up in India and tell your friends and relatives, ‘My goodness, I’ve just discovered that I’m God,’ they’ll laugh and say, ‘Oh, congratulations, at last you found out.”

IMG_9630.JPG
I guess I was just born on the wrong side of the planet with a different struggle to endure, as opposed to what events I’d face growing up in a place like India?

Well that’s all fine and dandy but what is this all going to amount to?

“Try to imagine what it will be like to go to sleep and never wake up… now try to imagine what it was like to wake up having never gone to sleep.”
The Beauty of Nothingness

IMG_4665.JPG

Leave a Reply

